The Seven Chakras, their Meanings, and More…

Like the 7 Colours in a spectrum, and the 7 notes of music, human body is composed of 7 energy centres, called chakras. In this video, we’ll look at the location, significance, and names of these chakras, and of-course their meanings. If you are new to this jargon, and are still confused if chakras make sense, please watch this video, which explains the logic and reasoning behind the existence of chakras. The Sanskrit Channel is a project to explore a vast variety of Original Sanskrit Literature. If you wish to support this effort, consider becoming a sponsor on Patreon, or make a one time contribution, through the links in the description below.

Your support will help us improve the quality, length and number of topics covered in our videos. Do check out the links, in the description below.

The first chakra to start with is mUlAdhAra. Also called as the root chakra, in english, mulAdhara, is located at the base of the spine. This is the area between the genital organ,and the anal outlet, also known by the name perenium.

The word mUlAdhAra, is a combination of two Sanskrit words, moola meaning source, and AdhAra meaning support. This is seen as the most rigid chakra, and is associated with the earth element. Even physiologically, this is the place where the grossest elements of the body reside. If one’s life energies are dominant in mUlAdhara, one is always concerned with survival needs like shelter and security. This energy junction, is also where the dormant kundalini energy resides.

If you wish to know more about kundalini, watch this video. The second major chakra is svAdhishThAna. This is called as the sacral chakra, in english, and is located at the top of genital organ. The word svAdhishThAna in sanskrit literally means, well established. This chakra deals with the faculties of pleasure and sexuality, and is represented by the water element, which again correlates with the physiological presence of the exact same element in the human body.

The third major chakra is maNipUraka. This is called as the navel chakra, in english, and is located just below the navel. This is also the level at which we were connected to our mothers and received nourishment inside the womb.

This chakra deals with the faculties of power,hunger and nourishment.It is represented by the fire element.

The fourth major chakra is anAhata. Also known as the heart chakra or the solar plexus, anAhata is located just below where our rib cage meets. anAhata in sanskrit literally means, unstruck sound. This chakra, deals with kindness, love and compassion. The element here is air.

fifth one, is Vishuddhi, which literally means, a purifier, or a filter. This is located at the pit of the throat, and hence is called as the throat chakra in english. Represented by the element akash, vishuddhi deals with speech, and communication. sixth Chakra, called Ajna, literally meaning a command, is at the junction of the eye brows. This is also called as the third eye chakra, and deals with sight, and perception.

Onece this chakra is fully activated, the third eye, is said to be open. This eye, which is a representation of perception beyond the dualities of existence, will make one dispassionate towards everything in existence. This is represented by shiva burning everything within his sight, if he opens his third eye.

Finally, the seventh chakra, at the top of the head, is called sahasrara. sahasrara, means a thousand petalled lotus.

This should not be understood literally as one thousand petals, but rather as ” thousands of petals”, meaning innumerable. Yogis who are in deep states of samadhi have their energies at this centre. This is a state, where even the sense of self, is absent during meditation. Now that we are aware of the names, meanings, and locations of all the chakras, in the next videos, we’ll venture into an in-depth exploration of each chakra. We’ll ofcourse be referring to original sanskrit sources, to understand these chakras better.

I hope you enjoyed watching this video. If you wish to support the production of more videos like these, consider becoming a sponsor on patreon, or make a one time contribution, all through the links in the description below. Consider subscribing to the Sanskrit channel, where we explore hidden gems, in the Vast world of diverse sanskrit literature.

See you in the next video, namaskaram.

How To Open Your 7 Chakras As Explained In a Children’s Show

Read More: How To Open Your 7 Chakras As Explained In a Childrens Show

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest posts

Unleash your infinite potential

Download this free audio training and get the clarity and confidence to build your dreams, on your terms.